Los Angeles County Department of Public Health Tobacco Control and Prevention Program

3530 Wilshire Blvd, Suite 800, Los Angeles, CA 90010 Telephone: (213) 351-7890, Email: tobacco1@ph.lacounty.gov/tob

IMPORTANT INFORMATION FOR TOBACCO RETAILERS THAT <u>ARE</u> NOT TOBACCO SHOPS OR SMOKERS' LOUNGES

Tobacco retailers operating in unincorporated areas of Los Angeles County must comply with all applicable county, state, and federal laws, including but not limited to the following:

- A valid Los Angeles County Tobacco Retail License must be, prominently displayed in a publicly visible location on the premises - Los Angeles County Code (LACC) §11.35.030(A), LACC §11.35.070(C).
- 2. A valid State tobacco retailer's license, must be prominently displayed in a publicly visible location on the premises California Business & Professions Code (B&P) §22972(a).
- 3. A warning sign stating that selling tobacco products to anyone under 21 years of age is illegal and subjects to penalties must be posted conspicuously, at each point of purchase B&P §22952(b).
- 4. It is against the law to sell or offer for sale, or possess with the intent to sell or offer for sale, any flavored tobacco product or any component, part, or accessory intended to impart, or imparting a characterizing flavor in any form, to any tobacco product or nicotine delivery device, including electronic smoking devices LACC §11.35.070(E).
- 5. Cigarettes are required to be sold in a sealed and properly labeled packages of 20 units. California Penal Code (PC) §308.2.
- 6. Little cigars or cigarillos may not be sold individually or in packages of less than 20 units LACC §11.35.070(F).
- 7. Self-service display of tobacco products is prohibited. B&P §22962(b)(1)(A), LACC §11.35.070(G).
- 8. The smoking of tobacco products, including electronic smoking devices, is prohibited inside the premises **California Labor Code §6404.5**.
- 9. Tobacco products may not be sold, given, or in any way furnished to anyone under 21 years of age PC §308(a), LACC §11.35.070(A). There is no exemption for active duty military personnel age 18 and older Federal Code of Regulations, Tobacco 21.
- 10. A Los Angeles County Tobacco Retail License may be issued to authorize tobacco retailing at a fixed location only. Tobacco retailing on foot or from vehicles, carts, or any other nonfixed location, is prohibited **LACC §11.35.070(H)**.
- 11. A pharmacy, including any location with an on-site pharmacy, is not authorized to engage in tobacco retailing LACC §11.35.070(I).
- 12. Anyone selling tobacco must be over the age of 21 LACC §11.35.070(J).